Back to top
It is generally accepted that lipstick is considered inedible. Therefore, all lipsticks may be used, even if they contain non-kosher ingredients (as is reasonably common). However, the halachos of Pesach are stricter and the cRc takes the position that lipstick should only be used if it is known to be free of chametz. Towards that end, each year before Pesach, the cRc reviews dozens of varieties of lipstick and evaluates if they contain chametz. Additionally, we have a "lipstick ingredient checker" which is a self-serve portal where consumers can determine if their lipstick is chametz-free. All of this is available at ASKcRc.org in the weeks before Pesach.