Back to top
In theory, bourbon does not require kosher certification, since it is typically made from simple ingredients. However, there are two issues:  Some have begun adding flavors and/or aging the liquor in wine casks, and each of these poses kashrus concerns. Consumers can determine if a given liquor is free of these concerns by carefully reading the bottle's label.  Some companies are owned by Jews who do not sell their chametz for Pesach. The cRc website has a list of brands that are affected by this issue.
The cRc liquor list provides a listing of bourbon (and many other products) which are approved based on cRc research, certified by a reputable kosher agency, or not recommended. Of the first two categories, those which are certified are preferred over those which are just "approved" since certification ensures ongoing and more comprehensive oversight than for items that are just approved.