Back to top

(773) 465-3900

Donations

EZcRc Login

[email protected]

Pesach FAQs

Sorghum

Q. I see you consider sorghum kitnios, but yet you approved of the certified sorghum whisky.  How can it be approved if it is kitnios?

A. As with other forms of kitnios, only the “grain” or seed is forbidden, but the stalk and other plant material are permitted. Whisky is made from the sorghum stalk and, therefore, although we cannot eat sorghum grain on Pesach, we can drink sorghum-based whisky, if it is certified as kosher for Pesach.