Back to top

Ready for Pesach? Check out the cRc Pesach page to help you make a Kosher Pesach. Click here to view our flip book!

(773) 465-3900


EZcRc Login

[email protected]


Go back to FAQ page

Gluten-free Food

Q. Does Pas Yisroel apply to gluten-free cookies, cakes, and crackers?

A. The very first halacha regarding pas Yisroel (Shulchan Aruch YD 112:1) is that it is only required for foods made from the five primary grains - wheat, barley, spelt, rye, or oats. Accordingly, most gluten-free food does not require pas Yisroel, because the very nature of gluten-free food is that it never contains wheat, barley, spelt, or rye. The only exception would be foods made with special gluten-free oats or gluten-free wheat starch; those foods contain one of the five primary grains, and, therefore, potentially require pas Yisroel if they meet all of the other criteria.