Back to top
Q. Can a diabetic use glucose tablets on Pesach?
A. Although there is a small chance that the common ingredients in glucose tablets (dextrose, ascorbic acid, citric acid, and flavors) might well be chametz, the likelihood is that they are not, and – considering the seriousness of controlling one’s diabetes – it is permitted to take them on Pesach. If one’s doctor permits them to substitute some other item (such as dried fruit or sugar cubes) for glucose tablets, and those items are known to be kosher for Pesach, it would be preferable to use that substitute.